You are here

Archive

5 days 19 hours ago

An international scientific team including two co-Investigators from the IAS has determined the elemental composition of the dust of 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko, the comet explored by the European space probe Rosetta. Their results reveal some of the most carbon-rich materials and the least altered ever explored. This cometary carbon is essentially in a macromolecular organic structure, meaning that it is mainly in that form that it was delivered by comets to the primitive Earth.

2 months 4 weeks ago

The European Solar Physics Division Prize Committee has awarded its 2017 PhD Thesis Prize to Clara Froment, in recognition of her Thesis on the coronal heating problem and study of the physical nature of long-period pulsations in coronal loops, which was undertaken at the IAS. The ceremony took place during the 15th European Solar Physics Meeting in Budapest on September 7, 2017.

3 months 17 hours ago

The enormous quantity and complexity of planetary data acquired by spacecraft during the last two decades has created a demand within the planetary community for access to the raw and high level data archives and to the tools necessary to analyze these data. The number and the size of the datasets are so large that an information system to process, manage and distribute data is critical. In this framework, the Observatories of Paris Sud (OSUPS) and Lyon (OSUL) have recently developed a portal, called PSUP (Planetary SUrface Portal), to provide users with efficient and easy access to these data products.

 

3 months 2 weeks ago

Former Ph.D. candidate at IAS, Jean-Baptiste Durrive has been selected as a Springer Thesis Award recipient for his doctoral thesis, defended the 13 October 2016. His manuscript, Baryonic Processes in the Large-Scale Structuring of the Universe, concerns two fundamental aspects of the evolution of the intergalactic gas, from the Epoch of Reionization until the present day Universe: the emergence of magnetic fields on cosmological scales, and the fragmentation of matter in the sheets and filaments of the cosmic web. His thesis has just been published in the Springer Theses collection. Congratulations Jean-Baptiste!

4 months 1 week ago

Scientists using data from the GOLF instrument onboard the ESA/NASA SOHO solar observatory have found long-sought gravity modes of seismic vibration that imply the Sun's core is rotating four times faster than its surface. IAS is Principal Investigator of the GOLF instrument and has participated to this study.

5 months 3 weeks ago

PLATO - Planetary Transits and Oscillations of stars -  was adopted during a meeting of ESA’s Science Programme Committee held on June 20, 2017. This means that the mission can now move from the blueprint to construction stage. In the coming months industry will be asked to bid to supply the spacecraft platform.

6 months 3 weeks ago

For the first time, scientists have explored the magnetic field in the upper solar atmosphere by observing the polarization of ultraviolet light from the Sun. They accomplished this by analyzing data taken by the CLASP sounding rocket experiment during its 5-minute flight in space on September 3, 2015. Now that ultraviolet spectropolarimetry, the method used in the CLASP project, has been proven to work, it can be used in future investigations of the magnetic fields in the upper chromosphere and the transition region to better understand activity in the solar atmosphere.

Pages

Subscribe to Syndicate

Vous êtes ici

Archive

Il y a 1 semaine 4 jours

Une équipe scientifique internationale impliquant des chercheurs de l'IAS a déterminé la composition élémentaire des poussières de la comète 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko, explorée par la mission spatiale européenne Rosetta. Ces mesures, obtenues par l'instrument COSIMA, révèlent l'un des matériaux les plus riches en carbone et les moins altérés jamais explorés. Ce carbone cométaire se trouve essentiellement sous forme de matière organique macromoléculaire et c'est donc principalement sous cette forme qu'il a pu être amené sur la Terre primitive par les comètes.

Il y a 2 mois 1 semaine

Comment les galaxies se sont-elles formées ? Où se cache la matière noire ? Quelle est la nature de l'énergie sombre ? Les mystères de l'univers ne cessent de questionner l'humanité. L'astrophysique lève le voile sur beaucoup d’entre eux, mais de nombreuses questions demeurent. Ces points sont abordés dans un livre grand public qui est sorti le 27 septembre dernier.

Il y a 3 mois 5 jours

Le comité des prix de l'European Solar Physics Division a décerné son prix de thèse 2017 à Clara Froment, pour ses travaux sur le problème du chauffage coronal et l'étude de la nature physique des pulsations de longues périodes dans les boucles coronales, réalisés à l'IAS. La cérémonie s'est déroulée pendant le 15ème European Solar Physics Meeting à Budapest, le 7 septembre 2017.

Il y a 3 mois 6 jours

Le service PSUP (Pôle des SUrfaces Planétaires) consiste en un centre de traitement de données de la surface de Mars couplé à un centre de diffusion et de visualisation de données à fortes valeurs ajoutées. PSUP est piloté par l'IAS en partenariat avec GEOPS et l’OSUL (Observatoire de Lyon), et avec un soutien technique du CNES. L'article décrivant ce service a récemment été publié dans la revue Planetary and Space Science.

 

Il y a 3 mois 3 semaines

Ancien doctorant de l’IAS, Jean-Baptiste Durrive s’est vu décerner le Springer Thesis Award pour ses travaux de thèse de doctorat, soutenue le 13 octobre 2016. Son manuscrit, intitulé Baryonic Processes in the Large-Scale Structuring of the Universe (Processus baryoniques dans la structuration de l’univers à grande échelle), porte sur deux aspects fondamentaux de l’évolution du gaz intergalactique, depuis l’époque de la réionisation jusqu’à nos jours : l’émergence de champs magnétiques aux échelles cosmologiques, et la fragmentation de la matière dans les nappes et filaments de la toile cosmique. Sa thèse vient d’être publiée dans la collection Springer Theses. Félicitations à Jean-Baptiste!

Il y a 4 mois 2 semaines

Les données de l'instrument GOLF à bord de la sonde SOHO (ESA et NASA) ont permis de détecter pour la première fois les modes de gravité, des ondes sismiques porteuses des propriétés physiques des couches solaires les plus profondes. Ces ondes, détectées maintenant sans ambiguïté, ont permis de montrer que le cœur solaire tournait près de quatre fois plus rapidement sur lui-même que les couches intermédiaires et externes du Soleil.

Il y a 5 mois 4 semaines

La mission PLATO – Planetary Transits and Oscillations of stars – a été adoptée lors d'une réunion du Comité du programme scientifique de l'ESA qui s'est tenue le 20 juin 2017. Cela signifie que la mission peut passer d'une étude à un projet à construire. Dans les prochains mois, l'industrie sera invitée à faire des offres pour fournir la plate-forme spatiale.

Il y a 6 mois 3 semaines
Grâce aux données du spectro-polarimètre de la fusée sonde CLASP, les chercheurs ont pour la première fois observé une signature directe du champ magnétique dans la chromosphère, une région de la haute atmosphère du Soleil. Pour déterminer le champ magnétique dans la chromosphère, CLASP a mesuré la polarisation de la lumière ultraviolette au cours des 5 minutes que la fusée a passées dans l'espace, le 3 septembre 2015. Ceci a permis de valider une nouvelle technique de mesure du champ magnétique, par spectro-polarimétrie Hanle. Elle pourra être utilisée dans de futures expériences de mesure du champ magnétique dans la chromosphère et dans la région de transition chromosphère-couronne, et donc de mieux comprendre l'activité dans ces régions de l'atmosphère solaire.

Pages

S'abonner à Syndiquer