You are here

Archive

1 year 9 months ago

In situ images of 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko acquired by the 7 CIVA cameras on board Philae revealed a singular, unexpected, and very irregular landscape dominated by consolidated materials. Following a detailed study, this landing site provided a unique opportunity to constrain the past and present conditions prevailing at the surface of the comet.

1 year 10 months ago

A few weeks away from the end of Rosetta mission and after months of data collection and analysis, the scientific team in charge of the COSIMA instrument, a mass spectrometer on board Rosetta, proves the presence of a macromolecular organic component in cometary dust particles.

2 years 1 day ago

By combining multi-wavelength data obtained from space with Planck and WISE, and from the ground with MegaCam on the CFHT, a team of researchers has revealed the structure of the diffuse interstellar medium over several square degrees with unprecedented details. In particular, this study reveals the statistical properties of interstellar turbulence over a wide range of scales, from 0.01 to 10 pc.

2 years 2 months ago

Monday, May 9, 2016, from 1:12 p.m. to 8:40 p.m. (local time), Mercury will transit in front of the Sun. It is a relatively rare event, especially if visible in its entirety, from beginning to end. The next transit of Mercury will take place in 2019, and the next to be visible in France in full will be held in 2039.

 

The IAS hosts on that occasion observations and presentations for laboratory staff, and the Orsay/Gif campus personnel.

 

From 1pm to 6pm :

2 years 3 months ago

The MICMOC experiment that started in 2003 at IAS and whose goal is to understand the link between astrochemistry and astrobiology, just came across through a major and surprising result: the prebiotic formation of the sugar molecule ribose, a key molecule toward the formation of RNA, the nucleic acid containing the first genetic material of living beings.

2 years 6 months ago

Gullies observed on Mars would be produced by the action of dry ice in winter and spring, not by liquid water flows as thought before. Indeed, recent numerical simulations show that under dry ice heated by the Sun, intense gas motions can destabilize and fluidize the soil, until they create flows similar to those created by a liquid.

Subscribe to Syndicate

Vous êtes ici

Archive

Il y a 1 année 2 mois

Les images du noyau de 67P / Churyumov-Gerasimenko acquises par les caméras CIVA à bord de Philae avaient révélé un paysage singulier, inattendu, très irrégulier et dominé par des matériaux consolidés. À la suite d'une analyse détaillée, ce site d’atterrissage environnant Philae s’est révélé être unique pour contraindre les conditions passées et présentes à la surface de la comète.

Il y a 1 année 2 mois

À quelques semaines de la fin de la mission Rosetta et après l’analyse de plusieurs mois de données collectées par l’instrument COSIMA, un spectromètre de masse se trouvant sur la sonde Rosetta, l’équipe de scientifiques constituée autour de cet instrument apporte la preuve de la présence d’une composante organique macromoléculaire dans les grains de poussières cométaires.

Il y a 1 année 4 mois

En combinant des observations multi-longueurs d'onde obtenues depuis l'espace avec Planck et WISE et au sol avec le CFHT, une équipe de chercheurs est parvenue à sonder la structure de la matière interstellaire diffuse sur plusieurs degrés carrés avec une finesse inégalée. L'étude a en particulier permis de déterminer les propriétés de la turbulence interstellaire sur une gamme d'échelles spatiales encore jamais atteinte: de 10 à 0.01 pc.

Il y a 1 année 7 mois

Passage de Mercure devant le Soleil

 

Lundi 9 mai 2016, de 13h12 à 20h40 (heure locale), Mercure passera devant le Soleil. Il est relativement rare que cet événement soit visible dans sa totalité, du début à la fin. Le prochain transit de Mercure aura lieu en 2019, et le prochain à être visible en France en totalité aura lieu en 2039.

 

L’IAS organise à cette occasion des observations et des présentations destinées au personnel du laboratoire, et du campus de Paris-Sud et CNRS.

 

Il y a 1 année 8 mois

L’expérience MICMOC, démarrée en 2003 à l’IAS et destinée à tenter de coupler astrochimie et astrobiologie, vient de déboucher sur un résultat majeur et surprenant : la formation prébiotique de la molécule de ribose, une molécule clef dans la composition de l’ARN considéré comme le premier matériel génétique connu chez tous les êtres vivants.

Il y a 1 année 11 mois

Les ravines observées sur Mars seraient produites par l'action de la glace de CO2 en hiver ou au printemps, et non par des écoulements d'eau liquide, comme avancé jusqu'ici. En effet, sous la glace de CO2 chauffée par le Soleil, d'intenses mouvements de gaz peuvent déstabiliser et fluidifier le sol jusqu'à créer des coulées semblables à celles générées par un liquide.

S'abonner à Syndiquer