You are here

Planck / HFI

Planck enables us to answer some of the most important questions of modern science: How did the Universe begin, how did it evolve into its current state, and how will it evolve in the future? The objective of Planck was to analyse, with unprecedented precision, the remnants of the radiation that filled the Universe right after the Big Bang, and that we observe today as the Cosmic Microwave Background.

 

Contact at IAS: Nabila Aghanim & Jean-Loup Puget

Name: Planck High-Frequency Instrument (HFI)


Definition : Planck is a satellite of the European Space Agency (ESA) that delivers all-sky maps in the submillimetric and radio domains (from 30 to 850 GHz), in temperature and polarisation. 

Science objectives : Planck has been designed with the aim of measuring the anisotropies of the Cosmic Microwave Background on the whole sky with a sensitivity and an angular resolution never reached before. Planck data provide major information for several fields of cosmology and astrophysics, such as theories of the primordial Universe, the origin of large scale structures, and the physics of the Interstellar Medium. 

Technical description : Planck is composed of two instruments : (1) the Low Frequency Instrument (LFI) - an array of radio-receivers using the HEMT amplification technology, that operates in the range of frequencies from 30 to 100 GHz; and (2) the High Frequency Instrument (HFI) - an array of bolometers, cooled down to 100 mK, that observes in the frequency range 100 to 850 GHz.


Planck did an all-sky survey every six months. Maps of the whole sky with a high angular resolution (FWHM~5'-30') and in all 9 frequency bands (30--850 GHz) have been released one year after the end of the mission. They provide the scientific community with a view of the entire sky of a quality never achieved before in this lesser-known frequency domain. This broad frequency coverage has been chosen for Planck so as to optimise the separation of components of galactic, extragalactic and cosmological origins.

 

Role of the IAS : The P.I. of Planck-HFI is Jean-Loup Puget, member of the IAS.
The IAS is strongly involved in serveral aspects of Planck-HFI, including instrumentation (tests and calibration at the IAS, thermal and mechanical design, integration, etc.), operations (within IDOC), data processing, analysis and interpretation (MIC team). Members of the IAS cotribute actively to many Planck Working Groups.

Status of the mission : Tests of Proto-Flight Model (PFM) of Planck-HFI have been done at the IAS in June-July 2006. Planck has been launched the 14 Mai 2009. Planck has succesfully accomplishd its mission. The last, switch-off command has been sent to the Planck telescope 23 October 2013 at at 12:10:27 UT. Members of the Planck consortium reduce, analyse and interpret Planck's data actively. 

 

Project status: 
In progress
Subscribe to Syndicate

Vous êtes ici

Planck / HFI

Planck permet de fournir des réponses à certaines des questions les plus importantes de la science moderne: comment l'Univers a t-il commencé, comment a t-il évolué vers l'état que nous observons aujourd'hui, et comment peut-il continuer à évoluer dans le futur? L'objectif de Planck a été d'analyser, avec la plus haute précision jamais atteinte, les restes du rayonnement qui remplissait l'Univers juste après le Big Bang, ce que nous observons aujourd'hui comme le Fond Diffus Cosmologique.

 

Contact à l'IAS: Nabila Aghanim & Jean-Loup Puget

Nom : Planck High-Frequency Instrument (HFI)


Définition : Planck est un satellite de l'Agence Spatiale Européenne (ESA) qui fournit des cartes de tout le ciel dans le domaine sub-millimétrique et radio (30 à 850 GHz), en température et en polarisation. 

Objectifs scientifiques : Planck a été conçu dans le but de mesurer les anisotropies du fond de rayonnement cosmologique sur tout le ciel, avec une sensibilité et une résolution angulaire jamais atteintes. Les données de Planck fournissent des informations majeures dans plusieurs domaines de la cosmologie et de l'astrophysique tels que les théories de l'Univers primordial, l'origine des grandes structures et la physique du milieu interstellaire. 

Description technique : Planck est composé de deux instruments : (1) le Low Frequency Instrument (LFI) - une matrice de récepteurs radio, utilisant la technologie des amplificateurs HEMT, qui observe dans le domaine de fréquences comprises de 30 à 100 GHz; et (2) le High Frequency Instrument (HFI) - une matrice de bolomètres refroidis à 100mK qui observe dans le domaine de fréquences de 100 à 850 GHz. 

Planck a effectué un sondage de tout le ciel par période de 6 mois. Des cartes du ciel entier à haute résolution angulaire (FWHM~5'-30') et dans 9 bandes en fréquence (30--850 GHz) ont été mises à disposition un an après le fin de la mission. Cela procure à la communauté scientifique une vision du ciel entier d'une qualité jamais atteinte sur un domaine de fréquences peu connu. Le grand domaine de fréquences de Planck a été choisi dans le but d'optimiser la séparation des émissions galactique, extra-galactique et du fond de rayonnement cosmologique. 

Implication de l'IAS : Le P.I. de Planck-HFI est Jean-Loup Puget, membre de l'IAS.
L'IAS est très fortement impliqué dans plusieurs aspects de Planck-HFI autant du point de vue de l'instrumentation (tests et étalonnages dans les locaux de l'IAS, design mécanique & thermique, intégration, etc.), des opérations en vol (dans IDOC), du traitement des données et de leur analyse scientifique (équipe MIC). L'IAS participe activement à de nombreux groupes de travail de Planck.

État de la mission : Les tests du modèle de vol (Proto-Flight Model - PFM) de Planck-HFI ont eu lieu à l'IAS en juin-juillet 2006. Le lancement de Planck a eu lieu le 14 mai 2009. Planck a accompli sa mission avec succès. La dernière commande de mise hors tension a été envoyée au satellite le 23 octobre 2013. Les membres du consortium Planck réduisent, analysent et interprètent les données activement. 
 

Statut du projet : 
En exploitation
S'abonner à Syndiquer