Astrochemistry and Origins

Interstellar Matter and Cosmology

Stellar and Solar Physics

Solar and Planetary Systems

Latest News

3 years 2 weeks ago

Beginning the 1st December at an international conference in Ferrara (Italy), the Planck collaboration, which involves the CNRS, the CEA, the CNES and several French universities among other institutes, reveals the results of four years of observation by the ESA Planck satellite of the Cosmic Microwave Background (CMB), the oldest light in the universe. For the first time, the CMB is accurately measured on the whole sky in both its intensity and polarisation.

3 years 1 month ago

After a fascinating sequence, with a descent phase perfectly as planned and an impact at a few tens of metres from the selected site followed by two rebounds, Philae finally stopped in a hollow surrounded by cliffs, in an acrobatic position. It is the first panorama taken by the CIVA cameras developed under IAS responsibility which has demonstrated this, confirming the first major success of the mission: Philae has landed and has operated on the nucleus of comet Churyumov-Gerasimenko!

3 years 2 months ago

The Planck consortium has published a statistical analysis of the dust polarization towards the regions of the sky best suited to measure Cosmic Microwave Background polarization. This work shows that dust polarization is significant over all of the sky, and that the signature of cosmic inflation will not be detected unless contamination associated with the dusty and magnetized interstellar medium in the Galaxy is removed with the required accuracy and confidence.
 

Pages

Subscribe to Syndicate

Astrochimie et Origine

Matière Interstellaire et Cosmologie

Physique Solaire et Stellaire

Système Solaire et Systèmes Planétaires

A la une

Il y a 3 années 1 semaine

La collaboration Planck, qui implique notamment le CNRS, le CEA, le CNES et plusieurs universités françaises, dévoile à partir du 1er décembre, dans une conférence internationale à Ferrare (Italie), les résultats des quatre années d’observation du satellite Planck de l’Agence spatiale européenne (ESA), dédié à l’étude du « rayonnement fossile », la plus vieille lumière de l’univers. Pour la première fois, la plus ancienne image de notre univers est mesurée précisément selon deux paramètres de la lumière, sur l’ensemble de la voûte céleste : en intensité et en polarisation.

Il y a 3 années 3 semaines

A l’issue d’une séquence fascinante, marquée d’une descente parfaite, de l’impact à quelques dizaines de mètres de l’endroit choisi, puis de deux rebonds, Philae s’est arrêté dans un creux bordé de falaises, en position acrobatique. C’est le premier panorama, pris par les caméras CIVA développées sous la responsabilité de l’IAS, qui a permis de le constater, confirmant par là-même le premier succès majeur de cette mission : Philae s’est posé sur le noyau de la comète Churyumov-Gerasimenko !

Il y a 3 années 1 mois

Le 7 octobre, l’une des caméras de l'instrument CIVA a pris une nouvelle image saisissante de Rosetta et de la comète Churyumov-Gerasimenko, distante alors de seulement 16km. CIVA est un ensemble de caméras, placées sur l'atterrisseur Philae de la sonde Rosetta et développées sous la responsabilité de l’IAS.

Il y a 3 années 2 mois

Le consortium Planck vient de publier une nouvelle carte dévoilant l’'émission polarisée de la poussière de notre Galaxie, dans les régions du ciel les plus propices à la mesure de la polarisation du fond diffus cosmologique. Cette publication montre que la polarisation de la poussière galactique est suffisamment importante pour masquer celle du fond diffus cosmologique, et ce sur la totalité de la voûte céleste.
 

Pages

S'abonner à Syndiquer