Astrochemistry and Origins

Interstellar Matter and Cosmology

Stellar and Solar Physics

Solar and Planetary Systems

Latest News

4 years 3 months ago

After 1,554 days in space, the Planck satellite has completed its observations on 14 August 14th, 2013. If the high frequency instrument HFI stopped operating on January 14th, 2012, the low frequency instrument LFI was able to work around an additional 600 days as its operating temperature is much higher than HFI. There remains to "park" the satellite in the solar system before saying goodbye.

 

 

4 years 5 months ago
Meeting in Paris on 18-19 June, ESA's Science Programme Committee (SPC) gave the go-ahead to continue funding science operations for 10 remarkably productive science missions (including SOHO and Mars Express), all of them working beyond their planned lifetimes and all of them nevertheless continuing to deliver exceptional science.
 
 
 
4 years 5 months ago

After a mission that lasted twice as long as planned, CNES’s CoRoT spacecraft—capable of seeing the vibrations of stars and hunting for exoplanets—is to be retired from service. Launched on 26 December 2006, the CoRoT space telescope has been co-led under CNES oversight by the Paris Observatory and the LAM ; IAS has participated to its development and data analysis, and hosts the CoRoT data centre.

 

 

4 years 6 months ago

On June the 20th, IAS organizes in the Lehmann amphitheatre (LAL, building 200 of University Paris-Sud) the conference “Atomic physics, plasma spectroscopy, and solar physics from space: Celebrating the achievements of Alan Gabriel”. This conference aims at presenting the status of atomic physics, plasma spectroscopy, and solar physics from space, put in the perspective of the achievements made with SOHO and the missions that followed. In addition, our friend and colleague Alan Gabriel will celebrate his 80th birthday.

4 years 6 months ago

ESA celebrated the 10 year anniversary in space of Mars Express, launched on June 2, 2003 from the Baikonour space centre. Mars Express, which is still in operation, is the first planetary space mission of ESA. For the first time, the satellite performed coupled analyses of the various Martian envelopes, from the exosphere and the high atmosphere to surface and subsurface, thanks to six instruments, including OMEGA, of which IAS is Principal Investigator. This space mission was very successful; it changed major paradigms in understanding the history of Mars.

 

Pages

Subscribe to Syndicate

Astrochimie et Origine

Matière Interstellaire et Cosmologie

Physique Solaire et Stellaire

Système Solaire et Systèmes Planétaires

A la une

Il y a 4 années 3 mois

Après 1554 jours dans l’espace, le satellite Planck a achevé ses observations le 14 août 2013. Si l’instrument haute fréquence HFI a cessé de prendre des mesures le 14 janvier 2012, l’instrument basse fréquence a pu travailler près de 600 jours supplémentaires car sa température de fonctionnement est bien plus élevée. Reste à “garer” le satellite dans le système solaire avant de lui dire adieu.

 

Il y a 4 années 5 mois

Lors de sa dernière réunion à Paris les 18 et 19 juin à Paris, le Comité du programme scientifique (SPC) de l'ESA a donné le feu vert à la prolongation du financement des opérations scientifiques de 10 missions (dont SOHO et Mars Express) dont la productivité reste exceptionnelle, bien au-delà de la durée de vie prévue de ces missions.

 

 

 

Il y a 4 années 5 mois

Après une mission deux fois plus longue que prévu, le satellite CoRoT du CNES, capable de voir vibrer les étoiles et de chasser les exoplanètes, va être mis à la retraite. Lancé le 26 décembre 2006, CoRoT a été réalisé par le CNES sous la responsabilité scientifique de l’Observatoire de Paris et du LAM ; l'IAS a participé à son développement et à l'exploitation de ses données, et héberge le centre de données CoRoT.

 

 

Il y a 4 années 6 mois

L'IAS organise le 20 juin 2013 à l’Amphithéâtre Lehmann (LAL, bâtiment 200 de l'Université Paris-Sud) la conférence « Atomic physics, plasma spectroscopy, and solar physics from space: Celebrating the achievements of Alan Gabriel ». Cette manifestation a pour objectif de présenter l’état des travaux en physique atomique, en spectroscopie des plasmas et en physique solaire spatiale, en les situant dans le contexte des progrès réalisés avec SOHO et les missions qui ont suivi.

 

Il y a 4 années 6 mois

L'ESA vient de célébrer les 10 ans dans l'espace de la mission Mars Express, lancée depuis Baïkonour le 2 juin 2003. Mars Express, qui est toujours en opération, est la première mission planétaire de l'ESA. Pour la première fois, elle a permis d'analyser de manière couplée l'ensemble des enveloppes de Mars, depuis l'exosphère et la haute atmosphère, jusqu'à la surface et la sub-surface, au moyen de six instruments dont le spectro-imageur OMEGA dont l'IAS a la responsabilité globale.

Pages

S'abonner à Syndiquer