You are here

Archive

3 years 1 week ago

On the 3rd of December, the Japanese space agency has launched the Hayabusa 2 probe towards a primitive asteroid, named 1999JU3, that it will reach in 2018. This mission aims at analyzing this object in three complementary ways: in remote-sensing, with cameras and spectrometers; in-situ, with instruments on landers; and by laboratory analysis of samples that will be collected on the asteroid and returned to Earth in 2021.

3 years 1 week ago

Beginning the 1st December at an international conference in Ferrara (Italy), the Planck collaboration, which involves the CNRS, the CEA, the CNES and several French universities among other institutes, reveals the results of four years of observation by the ESA Planck satellite of the Cosmic Microwave Background (CMB), the oldest light in the universe. For the first time, the CMB is accurately measured on the whole sky in both its intensity and polarisation.

3 years 3 weeks ago

After a fascinating sequence, with a descent phase perfectly as planned and an impact at a few tens of metres from the selected site followed by two rebounds, Philae finally stopped in a hollow surrounded by cliffs, in an acrobatic position. It is the first panorama taken by the CIVA cameras developed under IAS responsibility which has demonstrated this, confirming the first major success of the mission: Philae has landed and has operated on the nucleus of comet Churyumov-Gerasimenko!

3 years 2 months ago

The Planck consortium has published a statistical analysis of the dust polarization towards the regions of the sky best suited to measure Cosmic Microwave Background polarization. This work shows that dust polarization is significant over all of the sky, and that the signature of cosmic inflation will not be detected unless contamination associated with the dusty and magnetized interstellar medium in the Galaxy is removed with the required accuracy and confidence.
 

3 years 3 months ago

Two months prior to its separation, descent, and landing on the Churyumov-Gerasimenko nucleus, the Philae lander of the ESA Rosetta mission delivers its first images of the comet. The 7 micro-cameras of the CIVA instrument, designed and developed under IAS responsibility, will acquire the full 360° panorama of the landing site.
 

3 years 4 months ago

The COSIMA instrument on board the Rosetta spacecraft will provide the first high resolution mass spectra of grains collected close to a comet. The imaging system of COSIMA, COSISCOPE, built by Institut d’Astrophysique Spatiale, will locate and characterize the collected cometary grains.

Pages

Subscribe to Syndicate

Vous êtes ici

Archive

Il y a 3 années 1 semaine

Mercredi 3 Décembre, la JAXA, agence spatiale japonaise, a réussi le lancement de la sonde Hayabusa 2, à destination d'un astéroïde primitif, nommé 1999JU3, qu'elle atteindra en 2018. Cette mission vise à analyser cet objet de trois manières complémentaires : à distance, avec des caméras et des spectromètres ; in situ, avec des atterrisseurs ; enfin par l'analyse en laboratoire d'échantillons qui seront prélevés et retournés sur Terre, en 2021.

Il y a 3 années 1 semaine

La collaboration Planck, qui implique notamment le CNRS, le CEA, le CNES et plusieurs universités françaises, dévoile à partir du 1er décembre, dans une conférence internationale à Ferrare (Italie), les résultats des quatre années d’observation du satellite Planck de l’Agence spatiale européenne (ESA), dédié à l’étude du « rayonnement fossile », la plus vieille lumière de l’univers. Pour la première fois, la plus ancienne image de notre univers est mesurée précisément selon deux paramètres de la lumière, sur l’ensemble de la voûte céleste : en intensité et en polarisation.

Il y a 3 années 3 semaines

A l’issue d’une séquence fascinante, marquée d’une descente parfaite, de l’impact à quelques dizaines de mètres de l’endroit choisi, puis de deux rebonds, Philae s’est arrêté dans un creux bordé de falaises, en position acrobatique. C’est le premier panorama, pris par les caméras CIVA développées sous la responsabilité de l’IAS, qui a permis de le constater, confirmant par là-même le premier succès majeur de cette mission : Philae s’est posé sur le noyau de la comète Churyumov-Gerasimenko !

Il y a 3 années 2 mois

Le 7 octobre, l’une des caméras de l'instrument CIVA a pris une nouvelle image saisissante de Rosetta et de la comète Churyumov-Gerasimenko, distante alors de seulement 16km. CIVA est un ensemble de caméras, placées sur l'atterrisseur Philae de la sonde Rosetta et développées sous la responsabilité de l’IAS.

Il y a 3 années 2 mois

Le consortium Planck vient de publier une nouvelle carte dévoilant l’'émission polarisée de la poussière de notre Galaxie, dans les régions du ciel les plus propices à la mesure de la polarisation du fond diffus cosmologique. Cette publication montre que la polarisation de la poussière galactique est suffisamment importante pour masquer celle du fond diffus cosmologique, et ce sur la totalité de la voûte céleste.
 

Il y a 3 années 3 mois

À deux mois de sa phase de séparation, descente et « atterrissage » sur le noyau de Churyumov-Gerasimenko, le lander Philae de la mission Rosetta de l'ESA livre ses premières vues de la comète, depuis l’orbiteur auquel il est encore attaché. Les 7 micro-caméras de l’instrument CIVA, conçues et développées sous la responsabilité de l’IAS, réaliseront le panorama du site d’atterrissage.
 

Il y a 3 années 4 mois

L’instrument COSIMA à bord de la sonde Rosetta va obtenir les premiers spectres de masse à haute résolution de grains collectés à proximité immédiate d’une comète. La caméra de COSIMA, COSISCOPE, réalisée par l’Institut d’Astrophysique Spatiale, permettra de repérer et de caractériser les grains cométaires collectés.

Pages

S'abonner à Syndiquer